Home

Main Menu

Sections

 
The Frontpage
My question is very simple, I have come from Dubai and I feel to eat meat, I would like to ask you will that be okay if I buy meat from Wal-Mart and cook it at home. I feel its 200% haraam but I would like ask professional like you. PDF Print E-mail

Q: 47 – Title: My question is very simple, I have come from Dubai and I feel to eat meat, I would like to ask you will that be okay if I buy meat from Wal-Mart and cook it at home. I feel its 200% haraam but I would like ask professional like you.

Question

My question is very simple, I have come from Dubai and I feel to eat meat, I would like to ask you will that be okay if I buy meat from Wal-Mart and cook it at home. I feel its 200% haraam but I would like ask professional like you.

Answer

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

It is not permissible to purchase and eat the meat sold in such stores/restaurants in the U.S. since the meat is not slaughtered in the name of Allah. Many times, people get confused over the verse of the Quran in Surah al-Maaidah which states:

“The food of the People of the Book is lawful for you” (5:4)

From this verse, they conclude that all meat in such stores/restaurants (of animals which are permissible to consume) is permissible. This is wrong for several reasons.

Allah Ta’ala clearly follows up the abovemetioned verse in Surah al-An’aam, where He states:

فكلوا مما ذكر اسم الله عليه إن كنتم بآياته مؤمنين (118) وما لكم ألا تأكلوا مما ذكر اسم الله عليه وقد فصل لكم ما حرم عليكم إلا ما اضطررتم إليه وإن كثيرا ليضلون بأهوائهم بغير علم إن ربك هو أعلم بالمعتدين (119) ...... ولا تأكلوا مما لم يذكر اسم الله عليه وإنه لفسق وإن الشياطين ليوحون إلى أوليائهم ليجادلوكم وإن أطعتموهم إنكم لمشركون (121)

“So, eat (the flesh) of that (animal) upon which the name of Allah has been invoked (when slaughtering), if you do believe in His verses. What should cause you to avoid eating of that upon which the name of Allah has been invoked, while He has spelled out to you all that He has made unlawful for you, except that to which you are compelled by extreme necessity? Surely, there are many who misguide people on the basis of their desires without having knowledge. Surely, your Lord is the best Knower of those who cross the limits………Do not eat that (meat) over which the name of Allah has not been pronounced. This is surely a sin. The satans inspire their friends to dispute with you. If you were to obey them, you would be Mushriks. (6:118-119, 121)

These verses clearly mention that it is only permitted to eat that meat upon which the name of Allah is invoked at the time of slaughtering, and that eating meat in which the name of Allah has not been pronounced at the time of slaughter is a sin. According to the Hanafi Madhab, if a Christian or Jew were to slaughter meat, they must take the name of Allah in order for it to be Halaal. Furthermore, many people in Western countries claim to be or are labeled as Christians, but they do not have firm beliefs in God, a revealed book, etc. Therefore, they are only Christians by name but have similar beliefs to Atheists. These people cannot be considered the people of the book and their meat will be Haraam. Finally, most of these large chain store and restaurant corporations receive meat in large quantities. It is likely that their meat is machine slaughtered, as is a popular method nowadays. It is highly unlikely during machine slaughtering (in which a maximum number of animals are slaughtered in the shortest amount of time) that the conditions for validity of the slaughter are fulfilled.

We strongly urge you to go to your masjid and to be in contact with a reliable scholar and other reliable Deen-conscious Muslims in your area who can guide you to a facility where Halaal meat is provided.

Concluding, the meat from such places mentioned in your query will be impermissible as the conditions of a valid slaughter are likely not fulfilled. It is ever so important for us as believers to be extremely cautious with regards to what we eat. Not only is it stated that if a morsel of Haraam food is in one’s body, then forty days of worship will not be accepted, but it is also stated in a Hadith that a body which is nourished with Haraam will not enter paradise. These are severe consequences indeed for those who are not careful in this regard. May Allah Ta’ala protect us all.

حدثنا محمد بن محمد التمار قال : نا قرة بن حبيب قال : ثنا عبد الواحد بن زيد قال : ثنا أسلم الكوفي ، عن مرة الطيب ، عن زيد بن أرقم ، عن أبي بكر الصديق قال : قال رسول الله صلى الله عليه وسلم : « لا يدخل الجنة جسد غذي من الحرام »

(Al-Mu’jam al-Awsat-Tabraani)

يا سعد أطب مطعمك تكن مستجاب الدعوة ، والذي نفس محمد بيده ، إن العبد ليقذف اللقمة الحرام في جوفه ما يتقبل منه عمل أربعين يوما

(Al-Mu’jam al-Awsat-Tabraani)

And Allah knows best

Wassalaamu `alaykum

Ml. Asif Umar,
Student Darul Iftaa

Checked and Approved by:

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In'aamiyyah

 

 
I am in need of urgent clarification. I was told Apple Cider Vinegar has many health benefits and have been wanting to try it for some time but i am worried if it is Halal or not? PDF Print E-mail

Q: 46 – Title: I am in need of urgent clarification. I was told Apple Cider Vinegar has many health benefits and have been wanting to try it for some time but i am worried if it is Halal or not?

Question

I am in need of urgent clarification. I was told Apple Cider Vinegar has many health benefits and have been wanting to try it for some time but i am worried if it is Halal or not?

I understand wine and alcohol are haram but is vinegar? Specifically is Apple Cider Vinegar Halal?

Thank you for your time and help

Answer

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Vinegar is not only halal, the Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم even praised it.

حدثنى عبد الله بن عبد الرحمن الدارمى أخبرنا يحيى بن حسان أخبرنا سليمان بن بلال عن هشام بن عروة عن أبيه عن عائشة أن النبى صلى الله عليه وسلم قال نعم الأدم أو الإدام الخل

(صحيح مسلم، كتاب الأشربة، باب فضيلة الخل والتأدم به: 6/125؛ الجيل)

The Prophet صلى الله عليه وسلم said, “How great of a condiment is vinegar” (Muslim)

And Allah knows best

Wassalaamu `alaykum

Ml. Abrar Mirza,
Student Darul Iftaa

Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In'aamiyyah

 

 
How do we make fish Halal? PDF Print E-mail

Q: 44 – Title: How do we make fish Halal?

Question

Assalam mu alaikum, moulana  app muje  yeh bataieeyeh  kay machli ko halal kai say karar diya gaya . i am waiting for  your reply sir. jazakalla

How do we make fish Halal?

Answer

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

 

If the fish died in water because of some external reason then it will be permissle to consume. However, if it died a natural death it  will not be permissible to consume.

And Allah knows best

Wassalaamu `alaykum

Ml. Ishaq E. Moosa,
Student Darul Iftaa

Checked and Approved by:

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In'aamiyyah

 

 
We normally bite the biscuit or bread with our teeth, Is this correct? PDF Print E-mail

Q: 45 – Title: We normally bite the biscuit or bread with our teeth, Is this correct?

Question

Bread slice,Biscut  ko hum Dant se katkar khate hain kya ye galat hai .sahi tariqa kya hai ?
We normally bite the biscuit or bread with our teeth, Is this correct?

Answer

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

Yes, it is permissible to bite the biscuit or bread with your teeth.

And Allah knows best

Wassalaamu `alaykum

Ml. Zakariyya bin Ahmed,
Student Darul Iftaa

Checked and Approved by:

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In'aamiyyah

 

 
Many people have been asking me if soy lecithin is Halal. also if doritos chips is Halal. I would appreciate it if you would reply to my message. Thanks... PDF Print E-mail

Q: 43 – Title: Many people have been asking me if soy lecithin is Halal. also if doritos chips is Halal. I would appreciate it if you would reply to my message. Thanks...

Question

Many people have ben asking me if soy lecithin is Halal. also if doritos chips is Halal.  I would appreciate it if you would reply to my message. Thanks...

Answer

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

1) Lecithin itself is an emulsifier comprised of glycerol, two fatty acids, phosphoric acid and choline. It is extracted from egg yolks, soybeans or animal fats.  (IFANCA)

Therefore, if lecithin is from egg yolks or plant sources, it will be permissible. If from animal sources, it will be impermissible.

Soya Lecithin is derived from soya, which is vegetable source, so that will be permissible.

2) We are unaware of the Halaal/Haraam status of Doritos products in the U.S. However, after looking at their website it seems as though most Doritos products contain porcine enzymes. Therefore, Doritos products there should be avoided. You may verify this with a reliable ‘Alim in your area.

http://www.fritolay.com/your-health/for-special-dietary-needs.html

http://www.fritolay.com/our-snacks/doritos.html

And Allah knows best

Wassalaamu `alaykum

Ml. Asif Umar,
Student Darul Iftaa

Checked and Approved by:

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In'aamiyyah

 

 
«StartPrev12345678910NextEnd»

Page 7 of 919
 

Who's Online

We have 42 guests online