Question 524) - What are the Miqat which are not permissible to pass except in a state of Ihram?

A: The Nabi (S.A.W) established 5 Miqat:

1.Zul Hulayfah for the people of al-Madinah. [about 14km from al- Madinah in the direction of Makkah.]

2. Zatul 'Irq for the people of 'Iraq. [It is no longer known where it is, they therefore go through al-Madinah and enter into Ihram at Zul Hulayfah].

3. al-Juhfah for the people of Syria. [This was a big town in the era of Rasulullaah (S.A.W) It was 4 miles from

Rabigh on the left side when going to Makkah. It has become effaced and the roads of the Hujjaj do not pass through it. The people of Syria enter Ihram when they pass Zul Hulayfah.].

4. Qarn for the people of Najd.

5. Yalamlam for the people of Yemen. It is also called Sa'diyah today. It is a mountain the people of Yemen pass when going to Makkah.] These are for the people of the lands mentioned and whoever passes them.

~ al-Quduri ~