Home

Main Menu

Sections

 
The Frontpage
Is whisky or beer without alcohol Halal PDF Print E-mail

Q: 77 – Title: Is whisky or beer without alcohol Hal?l?

Question

I want to know is there any halal whisky or beer that could be taken by the Muslims? if any beer or whisky has zero percent alcohol ,is it then halal? please give a good answer ,i mean straight answer.

Answer

Kindly provide us with your understanding of “Halal whisky or beer” i.e. making process and the

meaning of Halal whisky and beer.

 

Never the less, hereunder are some articles on non alcoholic beer. In essence it is still an intoxicant as

understood from the articles.

Facts about non-alcoholic beer

History of Non-Alcoholic Beer

Non-alcoholic beer had its beginning in America during the Prohibition in 1919.  At this time brewing

companies, such as Anheuser-Busch, Miller, and Schlitz, began producing “near beer” to get around the law of

that time.  These drinks were malted beverages that had very low alcohol content (less than .5% alcohol by

volume).  In order to remove the alcohol, it was either boiled or filtered from the beer.  It was argued by

many that the process of removing the alcohol left the beer tasteless.  Over time, however, people found a

way to sneak alcohol back into the bottle or keg of beer, an illegal process that resulted in “spiked beer”.

 

Today near beer is still made and sold, and in many states it is legal for even minors to purchase and drink it,

though some states do require a person to be 21 to drink “non-alcoholic beer”.  This is because even non-

alcoholic beer has some alcohol in it. http://www.treatmentsolutionsnetwork.com/blog/index.php/2009/01/23/184/

Low-alcohol beer

Low-alcohol beer (also called non-alcoholic or NA beer, small beer, small ale, or near-beer) is beer with

very low or no alcohol content. Most low-alcohol beers are lagers, but there are some low-alcohol ales.

 

In the United States, beverages containing less than 0.5% alcohol by volume (ABV) were legally called non-

alcoholic, according to the now-defunct Volstead Act. Because of its very low alcohol content, non-alcoholic

beer may be legally sold to minors in many American states.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Low-alcohol_beer

Non-alcoholic beverage

A non-alcoholic beverage is a beverage that contains less than 0.5% alcohol by volume.[1] Non-alcoholic versions of some alcoholic beverages, such as non-alcoholic beer ("near beer") and cocktails ("mocktails") are widely available where alcoholic beverages are sold.

Sodas, juices, and sparkling cider contain no alcohol, but non-alcoholic beer and non-alcoholic wine undergo an alcohol-removal process that may leave a small amount of alcohol. Because of this, some states have legal restrictions on non-alcoholic beer and wine.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-alcoholic_beverage

Beer 101: How is Non-Alcoholic Beer Made?

Have you ever wondered how non-alcoholic beer is made? Even more importantly, have you ever wondered why non-alcoholic beer even exists?

Non-alcoholic beer, or "near beer," goes back the days of Prohibition. President Wilson first tried to compromise with the Temperance Society by proposing that beer alcohol content be reduced to 2.5%. However, even this ABV was not low enough for the Society. Thus, the “noble experiment” went forward with only 0.5% ABV beer being legal for many years. In a strange ironic twist, near beer was often secretly spiked with grain alcohol and sold illegally.

Luckily for Wisconsin, prohibition was softened when voters amended the Violated Act in 1926 to allow for the manufacture and sale of beer with an ABV of up to 2.75%. Still, prohibition was not repealed until 1933 with the passage of the 21st amendment.

In the meantime, breweries like today’s Minhas Brewery, located in Monroe, Wisconsin, survived the dry times by making “near-beer” such as Golden Glow (with 2% ABV), ice cream, and soft drinks. The Blatz Brewery, located in Milwaukee, also tried its hand at making near beer, juices, and chewing gum.

Due to the American populace subsisting on near beer for 13 years (1920-1933), many were inured to lighter beer by the time Prohibition was repealed. Going back to strong English ales or German Pilsners was unthinkable. Likewise, due to many private and illegal beer making operations, which often consisted of amateur brewers making what accounted to swill in their bathtubs, many folks were downright uneasy about imbibing in full-taste brews and microbrews. Thus, breweries like Miller, Schlitz, and Pabst were set for making mass-produced light beer, and even non-alcoholic beer.

Non-alcoholic beer starts out as regular alcoholic beer, which is then cooked in order to evaporate the alcohol. This is possible because alcohol has a lower boiling point than water, making it easier to boil off. As opposed to water, which boils at 100 °C (212 °F), alcohol will boil at 78.6 °C (173.5 °F). Most modern breweries also utilize vacuum evaporation to speed up the boiling process. In essence, the beer is placed under a light vacuum to facilitate the alcohol molecules going into gaseous phase. If a sufficient vacuum is applied, it may not even be necessary to cook the beer.

Of course, no amount of boiling or vacuum will ever completely remove all the alcohol, which is why even non-alcoholic beer will typically contain about 0.5% alcohol. One could attempt to remove the alcohol through distillation, but this would be a long and expensive process.

Amazingly, it is still possible for some people to get drunk from non-alcoholic beer. At least 15 states in the U.S. do not allow the sale of non-alcoholic beer to minors under the age of 21, while other states set the sale restriction for minors under the age of 18. It's not surprising, given what happens when minors get a hold of non-alcoholic beer.

http://www.examiner.com/craft-beer-in-madison/beer-101-how-is-non-alcoholic-beer-made

How Are Nonalcoholic Beer and Wine Made?

Put simply, you make alcoholic beer or wine, and then remove the alcohol. You do this by distilling the beverage, as if you were going to make liquor. But rather than save the booze and throw out the rest, you throw out the booze.

When you make alcohol, you typically heat up whatever it is you’re distilling to boil off the alcohol (which you collect in vapor form, then cool back into liquid). It doesn’t matter all that much if the water, syrups, herbs, and whatever else that’s in your base get a little cooked in the process, because you’re tossing out most of that in the end anyway. When making nonalcoholic beverages, though, maintaining the flavor of the base is important, because you’ll save that part, and you want it to taste as much like real beer or wine as possible. So you don’t want to cook it.

There are two ways to get the booze out that does not require high heat. The first is a process called vacuum distillation. The beer or wine is put under a vacuum. The change in atmospheric pressure allows the producer to boil the liquids at a lower temperature or in some cases with no heat at all, and distill off the alcohol.

The second process is called reverse osmosis, and is the same method often used to purify drinking water. It doesn’t require any heating. The wine or beer is passed through a filter with pores so small that only alcohol and water (and a few volatile acids) can pass through. The alcohol is distilled out of the alcohol-water mix using conventional distillation methods, and the water and remaining acids are added back into the syrupy mixture of sugars and flavor compounds left on the other side of the filter. Bingo a nonalcoholic (or dealcoholized, as winemakers call it) brew.

But do nonalcoholic beers and wines taste the same as alcoholic ones? Almost. Most of the flavor of real beer and wine comes from the grain or grapes, plus flavor compounds from the fermentation and aging process. Nonalcoholic beers and wines still have all that. Alcohol in the real stuff contributes mouth feel and a small amount of flavor. It actually makes wine taste sweeter, says Jeff Meier, vice president of winemaking for J. Lohr Vineyards & Wines, which makes Ariel nonalcoholic wines. This means that a dealcoholized wine needs about 2.5 percent residual sugar content to best match a completely dry (no residual sugar) alcoholic wine.

“Nonalcoholic” beverages still contain some alcohol, because it’s difficult and prohibitively expensive to get every single bit of it out. In order to be called nonalcoholic under federal laws, a beverage can contain up to half a percent of alcohol by volume. (Something with no alcohol at all is called alcohol-free.) So people who are forbidden to drink alcohol, like devout Muslims, can’t partake in so-called nonalcoholic beer and wine. Nor can people under the age of 21, according to the law. It takes about 10 nonalcoholic malt beverages to equal the alcohol in one American-style lager, says George Reisch, a veteran brewer with Anheuser-Busch and the former brew master of O’Doul’s.

One last point, about carbonation: When making nonalcoholic sparkling wine, producers do a secondary fermentation just like they do with regular sparkling wine. But the alcohol it produces is less than .5 percent, so the wine is still considered nonalcoholic. As for the carbonation in beer, like in most alcoholic beer, it’s “forced” with a charge of carbon dioxide at the brewery.

http://www.chow.com/food-news/53912/how-are-nonalcoholic-beer-and-wine-made/

Non-alcoholic beer

Non-alcoholic beer is a poorly named beverage, because it does contain some alcohol. Most brands of non-alcoholic beer are about 0.5 percent alcohol. This is significantly less alcohol than what is contained in alcoholic beer, which has an average alcohol percentage of 5%. Essentially, one would have to drink 10 non-alcoholic beers in order to obtain the same alcohol as that of a regular beer.

The reason non-alcoholic beer contains alcohol is because it starts its life as regular beer in most cases. The alcohol is removed after the brewing process has ended. This is accomplished through evaporation, which basically means cooking the beer until most of the alcohol is gone, then bottling the results.

For those who enjoy making beer at home, there are a number of recipes for non-alcoholic beer. These recipes usually start by combining the regular ingredients used to make a favorite homemade beer. Some suggest reducing the sugar content and type for the non-alcoholic beer, since some sugars like corn sugars naturally ferment more easily.

Once the brewing is complete, the beer needs to be brought to alcohol’s boiling point, which is about 173.5 degrees Fahrenheit (78.61 degrees Celsius). The beer should continue to boil at this temperature for half an hour to reduce as much alcohol as possible. Some veteran beer makers suggest that the best way to accomplish this boiling is an oven, which provides more even heat, and seems to have little affect the beer’s final taste.

http://www.wisegeek.com/how-is-non-alcoholic-beer-made.htm

Non-alcoholic beer contains alcohol

Non-alcoholic beer is a low alcohol beer with alcohol content of less than .5% of its volume. It is important to note that non-alcoholic beer contains alcohol, and that none of the beers currently on the market are completely alcohol free.

Although so called non-alcoholic beers are actually alcoholic despite of their names, non-alcoholic beer contains alcohol up to 0.5% because of the production methods, and not because of the brewer’s desire.  A person drinking enough of this non-alcoholic beer could actually get drunk.  For example if the non-alcoholic beer you're drinking has 0.1% alcohol, you can, theoretically drink 5 times more than if you would be  drinking beer with 0.5% alcohol, and reach the legal alcohol limit.

http://alcohol-statistics-in-europe.own69.com/non_alcoholic_beer_contains_alcohol/

Facts about non-alcoholic wine or beer

1.  Alcohol free wine or beer is made from real wine or beer. Wines from grape, date, honey, wheat is Khamr and Khamr is Haram according to several ahadith.

2.  The composition of wine is:
Water 80-85%, Alcohol 10-20%, Acids 0.4 - 1%, Sugar 0.1%(because all sugar in grape is used to produce alcohol), Mineral Salts 0.2 to 0.4%, Coloring substances 0.01 to 0.5%,
Aromatic substances 0.01 to 0.1%, Sulphites 10 to 200 Part Millions

3. Manufacturing processes used in manufacture of alcohol free wine or beer:

a. Alcohol free wine beverages is produced by using US patented process(4775538) where table wine is combined with demineralized water and poured into a centrifugal evaporator where alcohol is spin off to produce a alcohol free wine base. Then grape juice concentrate is added to alcohol free wine base to make alcohol free wine.
b. Vacuum Distillation where real wine or real beer is exposed to vacuum. Where due to change in atmospheric pressure with low heat or no heat the alcohol is distilled off.
c. Reverse Osmosis, a procedure used to clean impurities from drinking water. Most American homes has this unit under their kitchen sinks. The reverse Osmosis has filters with very minutes pores Through these pores filters only alcohol and water with volatile acids in wine or in beer is filtered out of wine or beer without heat. Then those volatile acid and water is put back to a mixture of syrupy mixture of sugar, flavor compounds on the other side of filter after distilling out the alcohol from alcohol and water acid mixture. This is also called dealcoholized wine or beer.
d. Non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer is made with a secondary fermentation to produce a non alcoholic sparkling wine or beer with less than 0.5% alcohol. Then carbon dioxide is forced to make a carbonated non alcoholic beer.

4. Another fact is that all the experts in this industry said that it is very difficult and very expensive to eliminate all alcohol from wine or beer. This is the reason Non Alcoholic beverages still contain some original alcohol from wine or beer. This leads to a US Federal Law about Non Alcoholic wine or beer which states that Non Alcoholic wine or beer can contain up to 0.5% "original alcohol of wine or beer by volume."
If you consider above breakdown of grape wine, the non alcoholic grape wine contains 5% to 10% original amount of wine in the Non Alcoholic grape wine based on 10% to 20% alcohol content in grape wine and if the Non Alcoholic grape wine contains maximum 0.5% original alcohol of wine or beer by volume according to US federal law.

So based on this calculation who decides to consume Non Alcoholic grape wine is consuming 5% to 10% of original grape wine in Non Alcoholic grape wine.

5. Another fact is that many producers of Non Alcoholic wine and beer want to keep the same original flavors compounds in Non Alcoholic wine or beer because to match original flavor and taste of wine or beer. Sometimes they add 2-2.5% residual sugar content to match a completely dry alcoholic wine. Some companies advertized that their Non Alcoholic wine or beer contains same original abundant flavors of original wine and beer.

It was reported in research that it takes about 10 nonalcoholic malt beverages to equal the alcohol in one American-style lager.

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Mufti Zaid Mohammed Shelia,
Student Darul Iftaa

USA

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

 
Is it permissible to do Qurbani on behalf of the deceased? PDF Print E-mail

Q: 76 – Title: Is it permissible to do Qurbani on behalf of the deceased?

Question

Assalam Wa alaikum

My first question is about qurbani. You know how people buy shares from the animal to do qurbani. Can we buy shares for deceased. If someone has passed away in the family and can we do qurbani for them?

Second - the vanilla essence and other similar product has alcohol in it as one of the ingredients. Can we use this (just one or two teaspoons) for doing any baking or cooking? Again the usage of this particular product will be very little in cooking.

Answers will be highly appreciated. May Allah put us in the right path of Islam. Ameen

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullahi wa-barakatuh.

It is permissible to do Qurbani on behalf of the deceased.  If the intention is merely to pass on the

rewards of Qurbani to the mayit (deceased), then one may simply perform his own Wajib Qurbani and

intend the reward for the deceased. [1] However if an individual intends to actually perform Qurbani for

the deceased, then he will have to perform his own Wajib Qurbani separately and a separate Nafl

Qurbani for the deceased.  It is related about Ali Radiallahu Anhu that he used to perform Qurbani on

behalf of Nabi Sallallahu Alaihi Wa Sallam after his demise. [2]

Furthermore, it is also permissible to include a share for the deceased in a cow or camel (cows and camels fulfill seven shares) along with individuals performing Wajib Qurbani. [3]

With regards to the vanilla essence, if it contains alcohol derived from grapes and dates, it is totally

impermissible as alcohol derived from grapes and dates is not permissible for consumption.  Hence any

product containing even a drop of such alcohol is prohibited.  However if alcohol derived from sources

other than grapes and dates is added in foods, drinks, or any other products such as vanilla essence, its

utilization and/or consumption is permitted with the following conditions:

1. It must not be used as an intoxicant

2. It must not be consumed to the extent of intoxication

3. It must not be utilized in vain

4. It must not be used as intoxicants are used (i.e. for alcoholic consumption, even a little) [4] [5] [6]

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Mawlana Abdul Azeem bin Abdur Rahman,

Student Darul Iftaa

US

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Husain Kadodia.


[1] فتاوي محمودية, ج 17, ص 330: دار الافتاء جامعة فاروقية

[2] حَدَّثَنَا مُحَمَّدُ بْنُ عُبَيْدٍ المُحَارِبِيُّ الكُوفِيُّ قَالَ: حَدَّثَنَا شَرِيكٌ، عَنْ أَبِي الحَسْنَاءِ، عَنْ الحَكَمِ، عَنْ حَنَشٍ، عَنْ عَلِيٍّ، أَنَّهُ كَانَ يُضَحِّي بِكَبْشَيْنِ أَحَدُهُمَا عَنِ النَّبِيِّ صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ، وَالآخَرُ عَنْ نَفْسِهِ، فَقِيلَ لَهُ: فَقَالَ: «أَمَرَنِي بِهِ» - يَعْنِي النَّبِيَّ صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ - فَلَا أَدَعُهُ أَبَدًا: هَذَا حَدِيثٌ غَرِيبٌ، لَا نَعْرِفُهُ إِلَّا مِنْ حَدِيثِ شَرِيكٍ وَقَدْ رَخَّصَ بَعْضُ أَهْلِ العِلْمِ أَنْ يُضَحَّى عَنِ المَيِّتِ وَلَمْ يَرَ بَعْضُهُمْ أَنْ [ص:85] يُضَحَّى عَنْهُ وقَالَ عَبْدُ اللَّهِ بْنُ المُبَارَكِ: «أَحَبُّ إِلَيَّ أَنْ يُتَصَدَّقَ عَنْهُ، وَلَا يُضَحَّى عَنْهُ، وَإِنْ ضَحَّى، فَلَا يَأْكُلُ مِنْهَا شَيْئًا، وَيَتَصَدَّقُ بِهَا كُلِّهَا» قَالَ مُحَمَّدٌ: قَالَ عَلِيُّ بْنُ المَدِينِيِّ: وَقَدْ رَوَاهُ غَيْرُ شَرِيكٍ، قُلْتُ لَهُ: أَبُو الحَسْنَاءِ مَا اسْمُهُ فَلَمْ يَعْرِفْهُ قَالَ: مُسْلِمٌ اسْمُهُ الحَسَنُ (سنن الترمذي, رقم الحديث 1495: شركة مكتبة ومطبعة مصطفى البابي الحلبي - مصر

[3] وَإِنْ كَانَ أَحَدُ الشُّرَكَاءِ مِمَّنْ يُضَحِّي عَنْ مَيِّتٍ جَازَ.

وَرُوِيَ عَنْ أَبِي يُوسُفَ - رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ - أَنَّهُ لَا يَجُوزُ، وَذَكَرَ فِي الْأَصْلِ إذَا اشْتَرَكَ سَبْعَةٌ فِي بَدَنَةٍ فَمَاتَ أَحَدُهُمْ قَبْلَ الذَّبْحِ فَرَضِيَ وَرَثَتُهُ أَنْ يُذْبَحَ عَنْ الْمَيِّتِ جَازَ اسْتِحْسَانًا وَالْقِيَاسُ أَنْ لَا يَجُوزَ.

(وَجْهُ) الْقِيَاسِ أَنَّهُ لَمَّا مَاتَ أَحَدُهُمْ فَقَدْ سَقَطَ عَنْهُ الذَّبْحُ، وَذَبْحُ الْوَارِثِ لَا يَقَعُ عَنْهُ؛ إذْ الْأُضْحِيَّةُ عَنْ الْمَيِّتِ لَا تَجُوزُ فَصَارَ نَصِيبُهُ اللَّحْمَ، وَأَنَّهُ يُمْنَعُ مِنْ جَوَازِ ذَبْحِ الْبَاقِينَ مِنْ الْأُضْحِيَّةَ كَمَا لَوْ أَرَادَ أَحَدُهُمْ اللَّحْمَ فِي حَالِ حَيَاتِهِ.

(وَجْهُ) الِاسْتِحْسَانِ أَنَّ الْمَوْتَ لَا يَمْنَعُ التَّقَرُّبَ عَنْ الْمَيِّتِ بِدَلِيلِ أَنَّهُ يَجُوزُ أَنْ يُتَصَدَّقَ عَنْهُ وَيُحَجُّ عَنْهُ، وَقَدْ صَحَّ أَنَّ رَسُولَ اللَّهِ - صَلَّى اللَّهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ - ضَحَّى بِكَبْشَيْنِ أَحَدُهُمَا عَنْ نَفْسِهِ وَالْآخَرُ عَمَّنْ لَا يَذْبَحُ مِنْ أُمَّتِهِ - وَإِنْ كَانَ مِنْهُمْ مَنْ قَدْ مَاتَ قَبْلَ أَنْ يَذْبَحَ - فَدَلَّ أَنَّ الْمَيِّتَ يَجُوزُ أَنْ يُتَقَرَّبَ عَنْهُ فَإِذَا ذُبِحَ عَنْهُ صَارَ نَصِيبُهُ لِلْقُرْبَةِ فَلَا يَمْنَعُ جَوَازَ ذَبْحِ الْبَاقِينَ. (بدائع الصنائع, ج 4, ص 209-210: المكتبة الرشيدية)

[4] احسن الفتاوي, ج 8, ص 484-489: سعيد

[5] (قال - رَحِمَهُ اللَّهُ -: ونبيذ العسل والتين ونبيذ الحنطة والذرة والشعير حلال وإن لم يطبخ) ش: أي قال القدوري في " مختصره " م: (وهذا) ش: أي قوله حلال م: (عند أبي حنيفة وأبي يوسف -رحمهما الله - إذا كان من غير لهو وطرب) ش: قيد بهذا القيد لأنه إذا شرب لأجل اللهو، والطرب يحرم بالاتفاق (البناية, ج 15, ص 115:المكتبة الحقانية)

[6] وَأَمَّا الْأَشْرِبَةُ الْمُتَّخَذَةُ مِنْ الشَّعِيرِ أَوْ الذُّرَةِ أَوْ التُّفَّاحِ أَوْ الْعَسَلِ إذَا اشْتَدَّ، وَهُوَ مَطْبُوخٌ أَوْ غَيْرُ مَطْبُوخٍ فَإِنَّهُ يَجُوزُ شُرْبُهُ مَا دُونَ السَّكَرِ عِنْدَ أَبِي حَنِيفَةَ وَأَبِي يُوسُفَ - رَحِمَهُمَا اللَّهُ تَعَالَى

(الفتاوي الهندية, ج5, ص414:مكتبة رشيدية)

 
Is eating prawns haalal or makroo PDF Print E-mail

Q: 74 – Title: Is eating prawns haalal or makroo

Question

Is eating prawns halaal or makroo

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salamu `alaykum wa-rahmatullahi wa-barakatuh.

There is a difference of opinion pertaining to the permissibility of prawns. One group of Ulama hold the view that it is permissible while another group believe it is not permissible.

The reason for the difference stems from the categorization of prawns. Those who hold the view of the permissibility of prawns believe that prawns are fish. Others believes that prawns are not fish.

Amongst the Ulama who believe that prawns are fish are

a)Hazrath Maulana Ashraf Ali Thanwi rahmatullahi 'alaihi

b)Hazrath Mufti Abdur Raheem Lajpuri rahmatullahi 'alaihi

c)Hazrath Mufti Mohammad Abdus Salaam Chatgami rahmatullahi 'alaihi

Those Ulama who have not regarded prawns to be fish are

a)Hazrath Maulana Rasheed Ahmed Gangohi rahmatull?hi ?alaihi

b)Hazrath Maulana Khaleel Ahmed Saharanpuri rahmatull?hi ?alaihi

c)Hazrath Maulana Rasheed Ahmed Ludyanwi rahmatull?hi ?alaihi

When analyzing the basis of the different views, one finds disagreement on what constitutes the valid shar’ee measure upon which we could base the classification of prawns. Those that regard prawns as impermissible believe that the valid grounds would be the classification of the scientists.

Hazrath Mufti Rasheed Ahmed Ludyanwi(ra) in Ahsanul Fatawa mentions that there are three features in fish.

1) Spine 2) Gill 3) Fins

These features are not found in prawns, hence prawns are not fish.

Hazrath Mufti Abdur Raheem Lajpuri rahmatullahi 'alaihi states that prawns have been referred to as fish. Hereunder are some references;

1) الروبيان (جهينكا) هو السمك صغير جداً (حيوة الحيوان 1/460)

2) الاربيان بالكسر سمك كالدود (قاموس المحيط 4/332)

3) (و الاربيان بالكسر سمك كالدود) و في الصحاح بيض من السمك كالدوديكون بالبصرة فصل الراء من باب الواو و الياء (صحاح مع تاج العروس عربي 10/143) امام بغوي و السيد مرتضى الزبيدي

Hazrath Ml Ashraf Ali Thanwi (ra) says “there are no specific features of a samak(proven through valid evidence) in the absence of which, would discount it from being classified as a samak.”

There are two reliable opinions with respect to the issue of prawns. Taqwa would demand that a person refrains from eating prawns, though there is leeway in consuming it.

And Allah knows best.

Ali bin Cassim
Student Darul Iftaa
Los Angeles, CA (USA)

Checked and Approved by,

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Daruliftaa
35 Candella Rd, Durban, South Africa
T : 031-207-5772 F: 086-692-7275

 
Is soy lecithin halal? PDF Print E-mail

Q: 75 – Title: Is soy lecithin halal?

Question

I had a question about the term soya lechiten if it haram or not?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullahi wa-barakatuh.

Lecithins are oily substances that occur naturally in plants (soybeans) and animals (egg yolks).

Soy lecithin (E322) is extracted from soybeans either mechanically or chemically. It’s actually a byproduct of the soybean oil production.

Some people use it as a supplement because it’s high choline content. Choline is a micronutrient that is good for heart health and brain development.

But that’s not the reason soy lecithin is used as an additive in foods. It possesses emulsification properties. This means it can keep a candy bar “together” by making sure that the cocoa and the cocoa butter don’t separate. It is also used in bakery items to keep the dough from sticking and to improve its ability to rise.[i]

Therefore, if lecithin is from egg yolks or plant sources, it will be permissible.  The ruling on lecithin from animal sources would depend on which parts it is extracted from, as well as the manner of slaughter.

As soya lecithin is derived from soya, which is a vegetable source, so that will be permissible.[ii]

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Mawlana Faraz Ibn Adam,
Student Darul Iftaa

UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Husain Kadodia.
www.daruliftaa.net



[i] http://blog.fooducate.com/2009/07/07/what-is-soy-lecithin-and-why-is-it-found-in-so-many-products/

[ii] وفي رد المحتار

( فيفهم منه حكم النبات ) وهو الإباحة على المختار ج 6 ص 460 أيج ايم سعيد

 
Is it permissible to consume meat products from Australia and Brazil? PDF Print E-mail

Q: 73 – Title: Is it permissible to consume meat products from Australia and Brazil?

Question

I am studying at Kyoto University in Japan. Australian Halal Beef/Mutton, and Sadia Halal Chicken of Brazil are mostly available in Japan for cooking as well as served in Halal restaurants too. The shops selling these meats (both cooked and raw) say that the Australian Meat is Certified by the Halal Certifiers of Australia, and the Sadia chicken of Brazil is also certified as Halal.

Since I arrived here in Japan a couple of months ago, I have been eating the Australian Beef and Sadia Brazil Chicken. But I stopped eating these meats since I was advised by one of the Tabhleegi Jamaat friend, that Australian Beef/Mutton and Sadia Brazil Chicken are not considered Halal as these meats are Machine Cut and also stunned before Slaughtering. I am in a big confusion and therefore I want to ask you whether it is permissible to eat the Australian Beef/Mutton and Sadia Brazil Chicken?

Also, I do not understand the necessity of using the method of "Stunning" before slaughtering, as it is being practiced in Australian Halal Beef/Mutton. Also, i searched on the Internet and found about an Independent Research conducted by Mufti Abdullah Nana (Graduate of Darul Uloom Azadville, South Africa) of Mill Valley, California, USA, who travelled to Australia and has seen the whole process and has pronouonced the certified Australian Halal Meat as Halal. (But not all the Australian certifications, only a few).

I request you to please give me a clear answer whether to eat Australian Halal meat and Sadia Halal Chicken or not, and also tell me some Fatwas regarding the consumption of machine cut meat. Please give me an answer regarding the Tabhleegi Jamaat point of view. Jazak Allah.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salamu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullahi wa-barakatuh.

We commend you for exercising precaution from eating that which you are unsure of and praise you for your desire to eat halal.

Consuming halal is an order of Allah and an essential part of the Islamic faith. Allah has repeatedly emphasised the consumption of halal in the Quraan.  Ponder over the following:

“O you who believe, eat from the pure things which we have provided you” (Quran 2:172)

“And do not eat that upon which the name of Allah has not been mentioned, for indeed it is a grave disobedience”. (Quran 6:121)

By being negligent about the dietary laws of Islam, one puts himself in danger in this world and the world hereafter. In this ephemeral world, the consumption of an unlawful morsel deprives oneself from having any of his good deeds and d??? accepted.  In the hereafter, his body will not be eligible to enter Paradise. All this is confirmed in the following ahadith:

Sayyiduna Abu Hurayrah (radiallahu ahnu) relates that the Prophet (salallahu alaihi wasallam) said:

Verily Allah is pure and He accepts only what is pure and indeed Allah has given those orders to the believers, which he has given to the Messengers. He has said, “O Messenger, eat from the pure foods and work righteous”. He -also- has said: “O you who believe, eat from the pure things which we have provided you.” Then (the Prophet) made mention of a man who undergoes a lengthy journey in a state that he is dishevelled and dusty. He spreads his hands towards the sky (calling), “O my lord, O my lord”, however his food is haram, his drink is haram, his clothes are haram and he has been nourished with haram! So how will his call be answered?”[1] (Sahih Muslim hadith number 1015)

Sayyiduna S'ad (radiallahu anhu) relates that the Prophet salallahu alaihi wasallam said “O S'ad purify your food (and as a result) you will become one who's supplications are accepted. I swear by Him in whose hands the soul of Muhammad lies, verily a servant (of Allah) tosses a har?m morsel in his stomach (due to which) no deed is accepted from him for 40 days”[2] (Tabarani hadith no.6395)

Sayyiduna Ka`b Ibn Ujrah (radiallahu anhu) relates that the Prophet (salallahu alaihi wasallam) said, “a body nourished with haram will not enter Jannah”. (Tirmidhi hadith no.614)[3]

Sayyiduna Abu Hurayrah (radiallahu anhu) reports that the Prophet (salallahu alaihi wasallam) said, “A time will come upon the people wherein a man will not bother what he intakes; whether from a halal source or haram.”[4] (Bukhari hadith no.2059)

In our times, it becomes even more important to ensure the meat and poultry consumed is genuinely halal due to the excessive deceit, cheat and false labelling of halal in the industry

We are not in the position to comment on the meat exported from Brazil.

We have been informed that meat shipment exported from Australia clearly has establishment numbers on the packets containing the meat.  Can you inform us on the certifying body and establishment number your meat carries?  Is there any specific certifying body or slaughterhouse you are aware of which your meat comes from?

Feel free to contact us or alternatively, you may wish to contact Mufti Faizal Riza Sahib (madda zilluhu) who is located in Australia and is in a better position to comment on exported meat from Australia.  Mufti Faizal Riza Sahib (madda zilluhu) is a competent and a reliable Mufti.  He maybe contacted through:

http://www.mufti-online.net

And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

Mawlana Faraz Ibn Adam,
Student Darul Iftaa

UK

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
www.daruliftaa.net



[1] عَنْ أَبِي هُرَيْرَةَ، قَالَ: قَالَ رَسُولُ اللهِ صَلَّى اللهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ: " أَيُّهَا النَّاسُ، إِنَّ اللهَ طَيِّبٌ لَا يَقْبَلُ إِلَّا طَيِّبًا، وَإِنَّ اللهَ أَمَرَ الْمُؤْمِنِينَ بِمَا أَمَرَ بِهِ الْمُرْسَلِينَ، فَقَالَ: {يَا أَيُّهَا الرُّسُلُ كُلُوا مِنَ الطَّيِّبَاتِ وَاعْمَلُوا صَالِحًا، إِنِّي بِمَا تَعْمَلُونَ عَلِيمٌ} [المؤمنون: 51] وَقَالَ: {يَا أَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا كُلُوا مِنْ طَيِّبَاتِ مَا رَزَقْنَاكُمْ} [البقرة: 172] ثُمَّ ذَكَرَ الرَّجُلَ يُطِيلُ السَّفَرَ أَشْعَثَ أَغْبَرَ، يَمُدُّ يَدَيْهِ إِلَى السَّمَاءِ، يَا رَبِّ، يَا رَبِّ، وَمَطْعَمُهُ حَرَامٌ، وَمَشْرَبُهُ حَرَامٌ، وَمَلْبَسُهُ حَرَامٌ، وَغُذِيَ بِالْحَرَامِ، فَأَنَّى يُسْتَجَابُ لِذَلِكَ؟ " (صحيح مسلم رقم الحديث 1015

[2] عَنِ ابْنِ عَبَّاسٍ قَالَ: تُلِيَتْ هَذِهِ الْآيَةُ عِنْدَ رَسُولِ اللَّهِ صَلَّى اللهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ: {يَا أَيُّهَا النَّاسُ كُلُوا مِمَّا فِي الْأَرْضِ حَلَالًا طَيِّبًا} [البقرة: 168] فَقَامَ سَعْدُ بْنُ أَبِي وَقَّاصٍ، فَقَالَ: يَا رَسُولَ اللَّهِ، ادْعُ اللَّهَ أَنْ يَجْعَلَنِي مُسْتَجَابَ الدَّعْوَةِ، فَقَالَ لَهُ النَّبِيُّ صَلَّى اللهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ: «يَا سَعْدُ أَطِبْ مَطْعَمَكَ تَكُنْ مُسْتَجَابَ الدَّعْوَةِ، وَالَّذِي نَفْسُ مُحَمَّدٍ بِيَدِهِ، إِنَّ الْعَبْدَ لَيَقْذِفُ اللُّقْمَةَ الْحَرَامَ فِي جَوْفِهِ مَا يُتَقَبَّلُ مِنْهُ عَمَلَ أَرْبَعِينَ يَوْمًا، وَأَيُّمَا عَبْدٍ نَبَتَ لَحْمُهُ مِنَ السُّحْتِ وَالرِّبَا فَالنَّارُ أَوْلَى بِهِ» (المعجم الأوسط للطبراني رقم الحديث 6395)

[3] إِنَّهُ لَا يَرْبُو لَحْمٌ نَبَتَ مِنْ سُحْتٍ إِلَّا كَانَتِ النَّارُ أَوْلَى بِهِ (سنن الترمذي رقم الحديث 614)

[4] عَنِ النَّبِيِّ صَلَّى اللهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّمَ، قَالَ: «يَأْتِي عَلَى النَّاسِ زَمَانٌ، لاَ يُبَالِي المَرْءُ مَا أَخَذَ مِنْهُ، أَمِنَ الحَلاَلِ أَمْ مِنَ الحَرَامِ» (صحيح البخاري رقم الحديث 2059)

 
«StartPrev12345678910NextEnd»

Page 1 of 919
 

Who's Online

We have 54 guests online